Kidney Failure Update: Natural Remedies I use to help with my Kidney Disease

Posted: October 2, 2017 in Health and kidney related

Hi there,

I hope every body is well. This blog is about some of the natural remedies and supplements I use to help alleviate my chronic kidney disease. 

Ever since my I was diagnosed with Chronic Kidney Disease I have always been on the look out for natural remedies and foods that can help me so I don’t have to take drugs with horrible side effects. As I have said before there is no cure for chronic kidney disease/kidney failure and so I thought I would try natural medicine as it would be away to bring the body back into harmony with itself and its surroundings and so help the body heal itself.

Therefor I decided to try some natural remedies to see if they will help. I will go through a list of some of the natural remedies/Supplements that I actually use. 

1) ALPHA LIPOIC ACID 

I take alpha lipoic acid capsules as this is an antioxidant. Because high amounts of oxidants is thought to be a cause of kidney disease then reducing the levels of oxidants in the body nay reduce the strain on the kidneys. So Alpha Lipoic acid is used as a kidney-healing nutrient. It does this by helping to increase cellular kidney energy for healing. It increases energy, reduces blood glucose levels, prevents diabetes and can be used in the treatment of cardiovascular disease and much more.  It can be found naturally in Liver, potato, broccoli, brewer’s yeast, spinach. 

2) CO-ENZYME Q10

I also take Co-enzyme Q10 tablets. This is an important vitamin-like substance required for the proper function of many organs and chemical reactions in the body. It helps provide energy to cells. It also has antioxidant activity. This enzyme helps increase cellular kidney energy for healing. Also it helps with heart disease, lowering blood pressure and increasing energy.  It can be found in chestnuts,  salmon, almonds, broccoli, sardines, hazelnuts, and mackerel

3) OMEGA 3/FISH OIL

Another supplement I take is Omega 3 capsules. Fish oil rich in omega 3 have been shown to be particularly beneficial in healing as it reduces inflammation, reduces high blood pressure and decreases cholesterol. It has been used for many kidney-related problems including kidney disease and kidney failure. It is also most often used for conditions related to the heart and blood system. It can be found in a range of oily fish.

4) VITAMIN C & VITAMIN D

I take these in multivitamins tablet form.

Vitamine C is another powerful anti oxidant. It helps reduce inflammation and boost the immune system.  It can be found naturally in wide range of vegetables and fruit.

Vitamin D is another vitamin used to boost the immune system. Because the kidneys help produce the body’s Vitamin D stores people with kidney disease sometimes have vitamin D deficiency.  It can be found in sardines, salmon and milk.

5) GARLIC & GINGER

I eat a lot of garlic and ginger. These are also Anti-oxidants.  And they boosts the immune system and helps keep the heart healthy.  Both of which also help maintain the circulatory system, regulate blood sugar levels, reduces blood pressure and decrease cholesterol.

In addition I just want to mention Curry. Not only does curry include garlic and Ginger it also contains a lot of other ingredients good for the body including Tumeric, Chili and Coriander. So I eat a lot of curry, which is good as I love curry :).

Other things that I have heard are good for the kidney include Cucumber, Astragalus, Green Tea, Nettle Tea, Lavender, Ginseng and many others. There is a lot of information on the internet on natural remedies if you look. And I did a lot of research before hand. But I will say this, just be sure to check with your doctor before taking any natural medication. Due to my anti rejection tablets I could not take Astragalus or Ginseng because of the potential for interaction between them.

There is little scientific evidence that some of these remedies work as there have not been many clinical trials done. But there are is lot of papers and information on the internet about the benefits of these natural medicines. Therefor I am not saying these magically work but I am giving them a go. They may slow down my illness and prevent me from going on dialysis. Or they may just have a placebo affect. I just don’t know. But I am willing to give anything a go to help slow down this disease and improve my quality of life.

But on a final note, I will repeat, if you do want to take natural remedies or supplements always check with your doctor first just in case they interact with any drugs that you may be taking or whether they would suit you because of your particular condition

Thanks for reading.

I also did a YouTube Video about this subject.

Natural Medicine I use in my kidney disease

P.S Please remember more than 10,000 people need and organ transplant in the UK. So donation is extremely important.

www.organdonation.nhs.uk/

 

Leave a comment