When can I watch another Doctor who?

Posted: August 13, 2013 in Gossip/News/Reviews - TV
Tags: , ,

Over the weekend the family (me, wife and our son Oscar) watched Doctor Who.  As you know I am a huge fan of Doctor Who but now Oscar, who is only 6, loves doctor who too and now he keeps saying “When can I watch another Doctor who?”.

Until the revamp in 2005 Doctor Who was always Tom Baker for me.  I lost interest in it when Sylvester McCoy and Colin Baker were in the roles.  But had my interest renewed in 2005 when the series was reinvented with Christopher Eccleston as the Doctor. Ever since then I have been watching it religiously.

And now Oscar has started watching doctor who. He saw episode 10 of series 7 back in april 2013 and he was hooked straight away. When the series ended in May the first thing he said was “when can I watch another Doctor who?”. So we decided to catch up on the all the old doctor who from series 1 (2005). We have been watching the odd episode each weekend.

But last weekend we had a huge marathon session which we all enjoyed including Oscar. We watched most of series 4 (with David Tennant as the Doctor) and all the specials leading up to the regeneration into Matt Smith.  And now we are up to series 5 with Matt Smith and Oscar still wants more.

He just loves it, and he understand a lot for his age. He gets that the doctor is a time lord and is immortal because he can regenerate. He is transfixed. There are some things and some story lines he doesn’t understand, but then again there are some I don’t understand either :). I think Its amazing and shows the huge influence that doctor who has on every one. I mean there are not too many programs that the whole family can enjoy and will keep a 6-year-old and 43-year-old engrossed. can you think of any? And that’s whats so brilliant about Doctor who, its science fiction for everyone.

And its British.

We can’t wait till the 50th Anniversary special on the 23rd November this year. I know its only about 3 months away but we still have to keep putting up with Oscar asking “When can I watch another Doctor who?”.

Are you looking for science fiction and horror comics, books and collectables? Then please look at the science fiction and horror online shop.  For the free monthly science fiction and horror newsletter, please subscribe here free.

Comments
  1. noelypb says:

    Our daughter is the same. I actually tried to keep her from seeing it as she’s only 4 but she saw clips with the Children in Need and realised it was Daddy’s show. Matt Smith is “her doctor” she says too. She understands about the other doctor and the new one though I think the regeneration will be hard.
    I agree with what you say too, it’s great how the show captures both young and old. Having been a fan for years I now see it in a different perspective, seeing it from her viewpoint.
    It’s great to think that maybe in 50 years this younger generation will still be talking about, watching or even making the future show.

Leave a Reply

