Rebooting classic blockbusters, they cant be as good as the original can they?

Posted: June 18, 2013 in Gossip/News/Reviews - Film
Tags: , , , ,

As you may know I am not a huge fan of rebooting classic films, see Total Recall….Not another remake!!!  but I watched something the other day that may have changed my mind.

It was a Sunday afternoon and I decided to watch superman 2 with my 5 year old son.  I had recorded it for him as I thought he may enjoy it. I have always thought that “superman” and “superman 2” were brilliant (at the time). For me, superman will always be Christopher Reeve.

When it first came out back in 1980 I was still at school and I remember the fuss at the time when I went to see it at the cinema and I remember being blown away by the special effects.  Never before had we seen superheroes fighting super villains with superpowers, except in cartoons. But the other day when I was watching it with my son, it suddenly dawned on me how crap the special effects were compared to say the “Avengers Assemble” or “Iron Man” or even probably the “Man of Steel” (superman reboot) which I haven’t seen yet. My son loved it, but I didn’t.

Don’t get me wrong Christopher Reeve is brilliant and the action and story is pretty darn good, well if you ignore the fact superman can wipe somebodies memory just be kissing them, but for me the effects look really bad.

Superman was and still is one of my favourite superheroes. I loved reading the comics and watching the different TV series/films. I still remember when I was young boy (late 70s I think) watching old repeats of “the adventures of superman” on a Saturday morning starring George Reeves.  And I remember the anticipation waiting for Clark Kent to turn into superman and use his powers to thwart the baddies. It was the highlight of the show.  Now if I had watched that now I will probably think what a load of rubbish.

And it got me thinking. Have I gotten too old to enjoy classic blockbusters and television series or I am expecting too much from special effects. Is it me?  Am I being too demanding as a viewer or do we need to reboot now and again just to keep up with current technology/trends

Here is another example to illustrate my point. In 1933 they released a horror movie that set the standard at the time. It had loads of action, state of the art special effects and was a brilliant movie, for its time. Do you know what it was called, “King Kong”. It was remade in 1976, and then again in 2005.  The 2005 version was really good and for me was almost as good as the original. Did it need to be remade/rebooted?

Well I hate admit it but sometimes I think yes things have to rebooted  to keep up with current trends and current technology of film/television program making.  The original “King Kong” is still a masterpiece and the remakes haven’t detracted from that.  In fact I think the remakes have made it relevant to a younger audience and in turn they may seek out the original.

So does that mean change is necessary?

I will give you an example of where change has been paramount to its success. Take Doctor Who, my favourite and the longest running science fiction series on TV. Here is an example of something that keeps reinventing/rebooting itself to keep up to date with modern audiences. And because it does this, in my opinion, it is still as good and keeps getting better.

So does that mean change is good?

No not in all cases.  Take another of my favourite films “Star Wars”.  I can still watch the original “star wars” from 1977 and still be entertained and blown away by the movie. In my opinion the effects are brilliant and the film hasn’t dated. I liked the sequels and prequels, but they didn’t have the magic of the original. And even though they are making some more sequels in the next couple of years (of which I have no interest in at the moment) I don’t think that original should ever ever ever be rebooted.  But then that’s the nostalgic part of me resisting change. And I think “if it ain’t broke why fix it.”.

Anyway, I guess I am rambling now. And what I am trying to say is that some films/TV shows date well and some don’t and therefor some do need rebooting and some don’t.  But who am I to say which ones?

What do you think?

Are you looking for science fiction and horror comics, books and collectables? Then please look at the science fiction and horror online shop.  For the free monthly science fiction and horror newsletter, please subscribe here free.

Comments
  1. stardust21881168 says:

    Well said I’m with you

  2. […] Rebooting classic blockbusters, they cant be as good as the original can they? […]

Leave a Reply

