Dark Shadows (2012), My review

Posted: November 8, 2012 in Gossip/News/Reviews - Film
Tags: , ,

Here is my review of “Dark Shadows” which I saw on BT Vision recently (Released on 15th October 2012).  Please don’t read if you have not seen the film, spoiler alert.

Based on a gothic series that ran on American TV during the far-off 1960s, Dark Shadows stars Johnny Depp as Barnabas Collins.  In the year 1752, Joshuaand Naomi Collins, with young son Barnabas, set sail from Liverpool, England to start a new life in America. Two decades pass and Barnabas (Johnny Depp) has the world at his feet-or at least the town of Collinsport, Maine. The master of Collinwood Manor, Barnabas is rich, powerful and an inveterate playboy. That is until he makes the grave mistake of breaking the heart of Angelique Bouchard (Eva Green). A witch, in every sense of the word, Angelique dooms him to a fate worse than death: turning him into a vampire, and then burying him alive. Two centuries later, Barnabas is inadvertently freed from his tomb and emerges into the very changed world of 1972. He returns to Collinwood Manor to find that his once-grand estate has fallen into ruin. The dysfunctional remnants of the Collins family have fared little better.

I was looking forward to this film as I had seen the trailers and it had looked very good…… The trailers made the film out to be a laugh a minute horror, which was what I was expecting. But, unfortunately in my opinion the best bits are in the trailers and I felt the film was a real let down. Dont get me wrong some of the action sequences and effects are brilliant. Individual sequences are absolutely tremendous. The sets, costumes and makeup are brilliant. And the acting is good too, particularly from Johnny Depp. But I was disappointed and expected a lot more from Tim Burton. To start with I felt the prologue was too rushed and the main story was too slow.  The pace felt wrong. It was pretty dark and gruesome at times which didn’t seem to fit in with the rest of the film. And so at times I wasnt sure if I was watching a comedy or a serious gothic horror, and so I felt the balance was wrong too.  At the end I was unsatisfied and felt a little let down.

Is it worth a watch. Well, if you are bored and have a couple of hours to waste then maybe, yes. But you are not missing anything if you don’t see it. That’s just my opinion.

But what did you think? Do you agree?

Are you looking for science fiction and horror comics, books and collectables? Then please look at the science fiction and horror online shop.  For the free monthly science fiction and horror newsletter, please subscribe here free.

Leave a Reply

