Have you ever been told you’re not good enough?

Posted: April 1, 2012 in kidney45challenge

Hi folks, Hope you are all well.

Sorry not blogged anything in a month but its been a very busy time for me. Not only has business been good but I’ve also been head hunted and now doing something I didn’t think I would be doing and that’s a “proper job”.   It’s only for 3 months but it was a opportuntiy I couldn’t turn down.

I always thought this year would be a good one for me but something happened back at the end of January which really affected my confidence.

I contacted a friend who I had not seen in a while.  I wanted to catch up with a friend for a friendly drink.  To cut a long story short, he was very negative and belittling towards me and my business. He said I was a failure and judged me for being “self-employed” and told me to get a “proper job”. I felt extremely hurt, betrayed, upset, angry and utterly drained after our encounter. In fact it hit me for 6 and knocked me back quiet a bit and made me question my own self.

But I guess what other friends have advised me is probably right. When “people” are negative, and seek to criticize others and situations, and who belittle/bully others unprovoked, it’s often ‘cos they feel bad about themselves, or feel threatened or jealous in some way. These people are not capable of finding the best in themselves and they’re certainly not interested in finding the best in others.

This has made me even more determined to make my business a success and to rub their noses in it. And so I have worked even harder.Lets just say that are not my friend any more but it got me thinking about a quote I saw recently.

“A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; and an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty. Winston Churchill”

After that little “set back” things have been really good.  Business has been great, in fact each month has been better and better and then on top of that just over a month ago I got a phone call from a pharmaceutical company wanting to talk to me about a possible temporary job.  I know I have said before I would never work for any body else again as I really enjoy being self-employed so I had a very long hard think about it but in the end I saw it as an opportunity I couldn’t turn down.  At the very worst I would get money to put into my business.  And sometimes you have do things you don’t want to achieve the dreams you want.

So things are looking up which sort of puts my so-called “friend” to shame, doesn’t it.

As you can probably expect I am very busy with this “job” and trying to fit in my business as well. So I apologise if I am not blogging as frequently as I used to. I will endeavour to fit them in when I can.

So, have you ever told you’re not good enough or been belittled/bullied? How have you reacted.

Are you looking for science fiction and horror comics, books and collectables? Then please look at the science fiction and horror online shop.  For the free monthly science fiction and horror newsletter, please subscribe here free.

Comments
  1. Tim Prevett says:

    You Are good enough! Exactly why you’re coming on my radio show tonight :o)

  2. […] Not to too long ago some body accused me of just having a “lifestyle business” and that I wouldn’t make loads of money from it and that I should get a “proper Job”.  Read about it here […]

Leave a Reply

