Are you missing Doctor Who? Who????

Posted: February 7, 2012 in Gossip/News/Reviews - TV
Tags: , , , ,

Are you missing “Doctor Who”? Well I am.

I know its only been just over a month since the christmas special of “Doctor Who” but I am afraid I am missing it.  I am so sad that I have even been doing a lot of thinking about what delights we may have in the new series. I am a huge Doctor Who fan and have been watching it on & off since the 70’s and in my opinion it has got better and better. Although I  did not watch it much when Colin Baker and Sylvester McCoy played the Doctor I got hooked again in 2005 when the series returned with Christopher Eccleston. I must admit that when Chistopher Eccelston left I never dreamed that David Tennant would do a better job.  But he did.  And when David left my heart sunk even lower because I thought he was amazing and irreplaceable, but Matt Smith (who I’m afraid I had never heard of before Doctor Who) has made it his own.

And now later this year we will see a new series of this classic science fiction series back on our screens.  Filming is due at the end of february. Thus far Steven Moffat has been pretty tight-lipped about the new series. It’s not even clear how many episodes there will be. Or even if it will be split between 2012 and 2013 to incorporate the 50th year anniversary.  We do know that we will see a bit of Amy and Rory and that they will be leaving during the series. He is quoted as saying “Doctor Who’s 50th anniversary is coming. In Cardiff, we’re gearing up for the biggest, the best and the most ambitious season we’ve ever made. There will be shocks, surprises and heartbreak – the Doctor is about to say goodbye to his very best friends, Amy and Rory.”

There is even rumour of a new companion but no news as to who it is. Mr  Moffat says “And then he’s about to say hello to someone very different – the Doctor is going to meet someone very new in the very last place he could ever have expected…” What ever that could mean I do not know.  Does it mean we might see something other than an earth-born human joining the Doctor?

There has also been a lot of speculation about what/who is going to appear in the 50th year anniversary. Will there be new monsters? Will the daleks or master return? Will it be a cross over story with an “old” Doctor Who series (like with the Star Trek deep space nine episode “Trials and Tribble-ations” where Captain Sisko and his crew go back to the time of Captain Kirk in the original “star trek” to find a bomb disguised as a tribble) or something completely new and unexpected?  Personally I would like to see a couple of older companions joining him, for example Donna, Rose Tyler, K9 and Captain Jack Harkness.  Wouldnt that be fantastic.  And since there is no “Torchwood” this year does that mean that John Barrowman is leaving time open for him to film in “Doctor Who”, or am I just clutching at straws? I even read somewhere, can’t remember where, that there maybe a remote possibility of different past “Doctors” appearing in some sort of reunion story.

Anyway, all I know is that I can’t wait. And when I get news I will blog it :).

Have you heard any gossip or want to see something in the new “Doctor Who” series let me know.

Are you looking for science fiction and horror comics, books and collectables? Then please look at the science fiction and horror online shop.  For the free monthly science fiction and horror newsletter, please subscribe here free.

Comments
  1. Yolanda says:

    That would be really cool if they brought in some of the previous Companions. Donna and Rose were my favorites (aside from Sarah Jane may she rest in peace). I’ve been watching the reruns on BBCAmerica.

    I am a huge fan of both Christopher Eccleston and David Tennant. It has taken my a while to like the changes that Matt Smith has brought. He has made the series a bit more kid friendly. Looking forward to the new series, though.

Leave a Reply

