Do you find January hard going?

Posted: January 20, 2012 in kidney45challenge
Tags: ,

Time for something different again.

January has always been hard for me.  The cold winter months and dark nights really did make me feel down and unmotivated.  November and December are just about bearable as there’s christmas to look forward to.  But after the new year celebrations I normally felt down and I just want to sleep and mope around. And it’s not until spring kicks in that I feel human again.

when you are self-employed and work from home, like me, it can be even worse.

I don’t think I am the only person that thinks this as psychologists believe January is a depressing time for many. The weather’s awful, you get less daylight than a stunted dandelion and your body is struggling to cope with the withdrawal of the depression-alleviating calorific foods, such as chocolate, of the festive period. January is one long post-Christmas hangover. And the media even claim that the third Monday in January is the most depressing of the year.

But I find that a couple of things help me…

1) Exercise and remain active. I think exercise helps a lot. Just getting out of the house and going for a walk or run makes me feel a lot better. And getting air into my lungs and raising my heart rate makes me feel great.  At the moment I go for a run twice a week and go for a walk with the dog every day. And because I am in training for the Manchester 10k run in May this has given me a goal to aim for, which helps. In addition, keeping active not only helps with depression and motivation it also helps to keep me warm :).

2) Networking. Getting out of the house and meeting others really peps you up as well. One of my goals for this year is to network at least once a week. I find that when I goto to networking events and meet other business minded people it really motivates and energizes me.

3) Maintaining a balanced diet.  I think eating a varied balanced diet with plenty of fruit and vegetables helps you keep healthy. And when you are healthy I think this helps prevent depression and ward off illness. I particularly enjoy making/drinking fresh orange juice.

4) Cuddling/keeping warm on the sofa with your loved ones.  I don’t think I need to say any more on this :).

Dont get me wrong, it is still hard motivating myself but I think these steps help. Well, they help me anyway :).

So what about you, do you find January hard going and what are your tips for getting through these cold dark winters days?

Are you looking for science fiction and horror comics, books and collectables? Then please look at the science fiction and horror online shop.  For the free monthly science fiction and horror newsletter, please subscribe here free.

Comments
  1. chromebiatch says:

    I have found January very hard going in the past, but in more recent years, I’m actually getting better at staying happy.
    Believe it or not, I begin to feel a bit summery, and start thinking about what to do on our summer holiday etc, Remember that snowdrops and bluebells are only weeks away, and soon you can have nice walks to admire them. There is a chill in the air, but also a great optimism.

    I eat fruit salads at work to keep that happy summer feeling, and also go swimming to keep the dopamine going.

    A final tip – make a list of all the things you’re looking forward to in the coming year. If the list is too sparse, create events! Have people over to your house, and look at gig lists to decide on bands or comedy things you want to see. Even up-coming cinema releases. Look for ways to fill up your calendar and you’ll realise there’s nothing to be down about.

Leave a Reply

