My Cinema/TV Review of 2011 and Whats Ahead for 2012

Posted: December 31, 2011 in Gossip/News/Reviews - Film, Gossip/News/Reviews - TV

As 2011 draws to a close I thought I would go through what I thought was the best and worst of 2011 for science fiction and horror on TV and Cinema.

Its been a pretty good year on the whole.   It was a year of remakes, sequels and superhero movies. And there  has been a vast selection of movies and television I really enjoyed.

Best of 2011 (in no particular order)

Dr Who

Matt Smith shone in the new series of Dr Who, Read my Review of the season finale.

Limitness

This was a good science fiction yarn which I watched on DVD recently and may have slipped below the Radar of the summers blockbusters.

The fades

This was an excellent horror series that sneaked onto our screens on BBC2.  For more information, please read my review of the Fades.

Harry Potter and the deathly Hallows part 2

The Harry Potter phenomenon came to an end with the final chapter.  This was my highlight of the summer, the film was awesome, for more information read my review.

X-men 1st class

read my review

Transformer dark of the moon

This was an unexpected pleasure, read my review.

Superman Requem

I can’t leave without mentioning this superman fan made film.  read my review.

Worst of 2011 

In my opinion there was only one thing I did not like and that was the new series of Torchwood. I thought the new series was a real let down, it promised much but failed to deliver, read my review.

So whats ahead for 2012?

I think 2012 will be dominated yet again by the superhero movies. It’s very likely that The Dark Knight Rises will probably dominate next year’s screens, but there are dozens of other films that will be fighting desperately for second place.  I’m particularly looking forward to The Avengers, The Amazing Spider-Man and Battleship.

But there are a couple of other films that also might be worth a watch. These include women in black (starring Daniel Radcliffe who continues his attempt to shake off his Harry Potter typecasting in this literature remake), Men in black 3 (Will Smith and Tommy Lee Jones/Josh Brolin return in the comedy caper),  Ridley Scott’s Prometheus, the Wrath Of The Titans, the hobbit and twilight:breaking dawn part 2.

On TV there is an intriguing new series called ‘Eternal Law’, which comes to ITV1 in January and imagines two angels sent to earth to work in a law firm and influence humanity for good. Ashley Pharoah and Matthew Graham, writers of ‘Life On Mars’, are the men behind the idea. In addition Dr Who will be returning later in the year which I am also looking forward to.

I am sure I have left a lot out and you may disagree, so let me know, what do you think?

And by the way, Happy new year 🙂

Are you looking for science fiction and horror comics, books and collectables? Then please look at the science fiction and horror online shop.  For the free monthly science fiction and horror newsletter, please subscribe here free.

Leave a Reply

