Is The Customer Always Right?

Posted: August 8, 2011 in Misc
Tags: , ,

In my opinion, YES.

From my experience I think there should be 2 rules we should use when dealing with customers, they are as follows:-

1. The customer is always right.

2. If the customer is just plainly wrong, then rule number one applies.

I have always tried to use these 2 rules and put myself in the customers position and try to deal with them as I would want to be treated.  I know if I have purchased something and I am not happy then good customer service goes a long way to keeping me happy.  And so if one of my customers customer complains about a product I aways assume they are right and try to rectify the problem.

For example, a couple of months ago somebody bought an item from my science fiction and horror ebay shop and claimed it was damaged when they received it. I know when I packaged it and posted the item it there was nothing wrong with it so I could have quiet easily have treated the customer as if he/she was a liar and it was their fault.  But I didn’t, I apologised for the problem and gave them a choice of either returning the product and getting a full refund or 10% off their next purchase as this is what I would have expected.  The customer chose 10% off their next purchase and in addition left very good feedback on ebay about the transaction.  As a result of my actions (and assuming the customer is always right) the customer was happy and the positive feedback I received will probably encourage others to purchase from me as well.

Now there might be a small chance the customer was trying to take advantage of me but I didn’t think about that.  It might happen in 1% of cases, but what about the 99%.  So I always assume the customer is always right (the item might have been damaged in transit) and as a result they are a lot happier and will be more likely to either recommend me or purchase from me again. Which is what happened in this case.

I firmly believe that we have to keep our customers happy as at the end of the day the customers ultimately pay the bills and pay the salaries. Without customers, there IS no business! I think sometimes businesses forget this, especially large corporations.

And whether you are selling a product or service I think the same reasoning should apply in each case and that the customer is always right.

I think if we follow this principle we can’t got wrong.

But that’s just my opinion….. What do you think?

If you want to purchase second hand Comics and books please look at the science fiction and horror online shop. And for more news and reviews of upcoming science fiction and horror films please look at the free Science fiction and horror monthly Newsletter.

Leave a Reply

