Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2, Is it any good? My Review

Posted: July 20, 2011 in Gossip/News/Reviews - Film
Tags:

Hi all,

Please don’t read if you have not seen Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2  …. Major Spoiler alert.

Yesterday (19th July) I went to the cinema and saw the Harry Potter finale. I am a huge fan of Harry Potter and was so looking forward to watching the end of the series. I have read the all the books and could not wait to see this finale on the big screen.

Before I tell you if it was any good I will just tell you briefly about the story.

In this final film it’s time for heroic teen wizard Harry Potter (Daniel Radcliffe) to face his ultimate destiny in a battle with the evil Lord Voldemort (Ralph Fiennes). But he is not alone. Harry’s loyal friends Ron Weasley (Rupert Grint) and Hermione Granger (Emma Watson) back him all the way. As does most of the wizarding world, including Harry’s classmates and teachers at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

I don’t know if you remember but at the end of the last film we see Lord Voldemort steel the most powerful wand from the tomb of Harry’s protector, Professor Dumbledore (Michael Gambon.  And this is where this film picks up, with a shot of the dark lord Voldemort’s noseless  face in triumph as he steals the most powerful magic wand in the world from  the tomb of Professor Dumbledore and with it he will become invincible.

In the very next scene, we find Harry Potter, Hermione Granger  and Ron Weasley (Rupert Grint), looking vulnerable and young, as they struggle with the vast responsibility of stopping Voldemort in his tracks.

The trio discover that one of the horcruxes is in the vaults of Gringotts Bank.  With Hermione disguised as Bellatrix Lestrange the trio find the horcrux but find themselves trapped. But after escaping on a dragons back it is then revealed that the final horcrux is back at Hogwarts and so trio head off back to  Hogwarts to track it down.  Voldemort is none too pleased and so the scene is set for the final battle.

But what chance do these adolescents have against the powers of darkness? We soon find out. And so this is where most of the film takes place, in the concluding battle at Hogwarts.

So was it any good?? I hear you ask.  OH YES, it was bloody brilliant. I was blown away. Awesome, Excellent, Fantastic, Amazing are some of the words I would describe it.  This film ties up every single loose end of the whole saga. And in between quests for hidden horcruxes and duals with Lord Voldermort, Harry finds time for a little romance.

Believe me the battle at Hogwarts it is a genuinely terrifying spectacle. As bloodied students fight desperately against a horde of screaming black-robed Death Eaters. Hogwarts itself comes to life to defend itself. This gives Maggie Smith, as prim professor McGonagall, a lovely comic turn as she sends off an army of stone knights.  “I’ve always wanted to do that” she is heard to say.

Our central threesome, did not disappoint. Radcliffe’s is amazing in this film and has been transformed into quiet a heroic character.  My favourite line from Harry has to be after Harry enters Hogwarts and confronts professor Snape in the great hall and says “It appears you have a security problem”. The doors then open to reveal Harry’s closest allies as he finishes “And it is quiet extensive”.  Great stuff.  Emma Watson and Grint ars awesome too and have portrayed a vast range of acting skills. Grint pulled off a particularly emotional scene in which one of his brothers is slain.

In fact there are many deaths on both sides but I am afraid the death scene that got me the most was when Professer Snape croaked after bearing his soul.  And we finally find out that he has been on Harry’s side from the start. Very emotional stuff.

In addition, there is superb acting from Helena Bonham Carter as the raving black witch Bellatrix Lestrange.  Her death at the hand of Mama Weasley was particularly pleasing.

But special mention has to go to the weedy Neville Longbottom (Matthew David Lewis) who is in element here and has some of the best lines of the film, in my opinion.  One of which was after nearly fallen to his death, after blowing up the bridge, he pops up with a cheery, “Well that went well”.

I could go on as there are so many positives in this film. This remarkable franchise has certainly been given, in my opinion, the thrilling conclusion it deserves.  It’s an emotional roller-coaster of tear-jerking tragedy, rousing heroics and long-awaited closure. it’s impossible not to be hugely moved by their final acts of courage and love in the face of an ultimate evil.

I cannot express how brilliant I thought this film was. And I cannot recommend this film enough. In my opinion you will not be disappointed :).

What do you think? Have you seen the Harry Potter finale? Let me know your thoughts…

And if not then take a look at this awesome trailer…..

If you want to purchase second hand Comics and books please look at the science fiction and horror online shop. And for more news and reviews of upcoming science fiction and horror films please look at the SFHDominion monthly Newsletter.

Comments
  1. Tabatha says:

    I went to see it last night. It was a 9pm showing and it was brilliant to see so many grown adults watching it with me 🙂
    People take the mickey out of adults liking Harry Potter, but they forget many were kids when the books came out. I was 13 or 14 when the first film came out and I read the first 4 books within about 2 weeks. Just because I’m 24 now, why should I abandon something I grew up with?
    It was a fantastic finale, I agree with you completely. There were moments I was thinking “this is actually beating the epicness of lord of the rings”.. 😀
    The only trouble is, because I’m a girly girl, I was crying through the whole last half. Especially when Harry asked Sirius what it was like to die… I’m welling up even thinking about it now! Very sad indeed, but a truly great film.

  2. […] The Harry Potter phenomenon came to an end with the final chapter.  This was my highlight of the summer, the film was awesome, for more information read my review. […]

Leave a Reply

