Outcasts…. Hit or Miss?

Posted: February 8, 2011 in Gossip/News/Reviews - TV
Tags: , ,

Hi Folks,

I have just watched the pilot episode of “Outcasts” the new science fiction blockbuster drama from the bbc and I have to say I was a bit disappointed…. It can be summed up with on word “bleak”.  It was so dam depressing!

Click here for Trailer

I was hoping for a lot more but in this case I was let down by the fact that it devoted much of its opening episode to talking. I have to say it was on the verge on being plain boring. And in my opinion the BBC’s expensive new drama is going to have to fight to get people back for episode two.

To cut a long story short it’s basically about a small population of human settlers, set in the future in 2040, who have set up home on a planet after something bad has happened on earth. You can certainly see that it has been “influenced” by the success of the US series “Battlestar Galactica”.  But where “Battlestar Galactic” blew you out of the water in the pilot episode I’m afraid “outcasts” fails and just sends you to sleep instead.

Dont get me wrong. It wasnt all bad, there were some heart felt moments. In particular, I really warmed to the interaction between the President, and the captain of the incoming transporter, with their conversations offering a human heart to the episode. This is where the show slowed just a little, to let us take information in, and these scenes were certainly welcome.

And also there was a big surprise near the end. There was the quick demise of Jamie Bamber (whose character I thought was arguably the most interesting of this opening episode).  This is a good tactic, you get the apparent star of the show and stick a bullet in them right near the start of the adventure. After that, surely anything goes.

But I’m afraid on the whole it was bleak and confusing. Maybe they tried to put too much information in this pilot episode, I don’t know.  I’ll probably give episode 2 a go but it’ll have to be a big improvement to keep me interested….

Next episode of “Outcasts” is on bbc1 tonight at 9pm….

What did you think? Do you agree with me?

For more news and reviews of other upcoming science fiction and horror films/TV programs please look at the SFHDominion monthly Newsletter.  And if you want to purchase second hand comics and books please look at the science fiction and horror ebay shop.

Comments
  1. Yeah I watched it and removed myself from it upset that with so much money thrown at it, they just couldn’t have focused on the script, direction and acting.
    I mean it looked spectacular but it was very unengaging. Apart from the last two minutes. With 8 episodes to get through, it may have been just a very slow starter.

  2. Well I watched the second episode this morning and it was remarkably better. Your thoughts?

  3. Oh dear, it looks as though its been a miss as it is to be moved to a dreaded graveyard slot following poor ratings.

    The much-hyped sci-fi series launched last Monday with a modest 4.4 million viewers but ratings have since dropped to 2.6 million.

    As a result, the BBC are moving the remaining episodes of the eight-part series to 10.25pm from Sunday 27 February….

Leave a Reply

